Local Sport

Andover New Street: Factfile

Andover New Street Football Club is a football club based in Andover, Hampshire and are currently members of the Wessex League Division One.

The club was originally established in the 1890s as St Mary’s Youth by the vicar of St Mary’s Church, though they were later renamed as New Street in 1895. They continued under this name until disbanding in the 1950s only to be reformed once again in 1961. 

The club took on the current name of Andover New Street in 2002. Andover New Street also has a reserve side known as ‘Andover New Street Swifts’, who currently play their games in the Hampshire Premier Football League Division One. Martin Tobin is the current chairman of the club, while John Smith is manager. The team plays in their traditional home colours of green and black striped shirts, black shorts and black socks.

Andover New Street originally played their home games at Walled Meadow and then had spells at London Road and the Drove, before then moving to their current home Foxcotte Park in 1992. The record attendance for an Andover New Street game is 240.

Directions: Leave A303 at the Weyhill Junction (A342) and after crossing A303 take the 2nd exit at large roundabout across the face of the Premier Inn Hotel towards Ludgershall. Approx. ½ mile turn right into Short Lane (marked Pentons) and continue into Harroway Lane and to the T junction at the top. Turn right in to Foxcotte Lane and after ¾ mile turn left – which is still Foxcotte At the next roundabout go straight across into the ground.


Hampshire League

  • Division Three champions 1977–78
  • Division Four champions 1976–77
  • League Cup winners 2003–04

North Hants Senior Cup 

  • Winners 2017–18

Andover Open Cup 

  • Winners 2017–18

If you enjoy your football news then head on over to Squawka.com