Andover’s Guildhall will start to return to its former glory later this week when the scaffolding begins to come down following stone works to the Grade II* listed building.
Earlier this year, work began to restore the stone exterior of the building that sits at the top of the High Street after Test Valley Borough Council appointed Stonewest to undertake the repairs.
Now, having had a thorough clean and essential painstaking stone work completed, the scaffolding will begin to be removed while the finishing touches are carried out. The repairs and maintenance is the first work to be done to the historic building in 30 years.
New bath stone has been put in place in various locations, windows have been repaired and cleaned, and careful, sensitive repairs to corners, carvings and pillars have been completed on the building, which was first built in 1825.
As well as the history of Andover’s famous building, TVBC has a legal duty to maintain the listed building.
Leader of Test Valley Borough Council, Phil North, said: “It’s really fascinating to see the careful considerate work that has been done to one of the town’s most important and recognisable buildings. While many of us see the scaffolding go up and simply wait for it to come down, the intricate work carried out behind the netting is both impressive and essential.
“Whilst we’d initially hoped it would be completed by June – there has been some unforeseen additional works that have had to be undertaken along the way. After all, this is the building’s first significant restoration since 1991. The town’s Guildhall has sat at the heart of the High Street now for decades, and it is vital that, as its owners, we pay it the respect it deserves in ensuring it has a future for generations to come.”