Local News

Following the trail of Andover’s heritage

Andover Heritage Trail

Ten bronze plaques and four new information signs have been installed in Andover to mark the town’s heritage trail.

Starting at the Town Mills, where wheat was ground into flour until the 1960s, the trail’s highlights include the decorative Time Ring on the High Street, the Norman Arch – the only surviving section of the Andover Church – and St Mary’s Church which was re-built in 1856 after resisting several attempts of demolition.

The trail reveals what happened next and it ends at the Andover Museum where guests can immerse themselves in the further details of the town’s past.

Leader of the Council, Cllr Phil North said, “The Andover Vision partnership found that local people wanted to celebrate the town’s history and heritage more.

“We are very grateful to have received funding from the Heritage Lottery Fund to make the project possible.

“The re-launch of the heritage trail is a fun and interactive way to learn more about the past and bring history to life.”

Test Valley Borough Council is currently inviting artists to submit ideas for two murals that will complete the Heritage Trail.

Designs should provide visuals that animate two of the heritage locations; the Old Jail on Bridge Street and the Angel Inn yard in the High Street. Anyone interested can find out more on the Public Art Commissions page at www.testvalley.gov.uk.

Further information about Andover’s history can found here: www.testvalley.gov.uk/AndoverHeritageTrail

Listen to a 20-minute audio reading of Andover’s history here:

Further information about Andover’s history can be discovered at Andover Museum and through the Andover History and Archaeological Society.

About the author

David Harber

David Harber is the founder and Managing Director of Love Andover, including the Love Andover Observer newspaper and 95.9FM Andover Radio. He is a fellow at the Royal Society of Arts and a card carrying member of the Nation Union of Journalists.